04
May
08

Iron Man Opening Night

I have been talking about this film for months. When I heard about Jon Favreau being on board I was surprised and excited with the unusual directing choice by Marvel. When Robert Downey Jr. showed up as the the leading man it felt like the perfect pick. But being the skeptic I am I was worried about the outcome all the way until the lights dimmed in the theater last night when I saw it.

To cut with the suspense I’ll just flat out say that I feel the movie was a huge success. Better than Spider-Man’s first attempt, better than the Hulk, Fantastic Four or Daredevil combined and even better than X-Men’s first try at the title.

The movie had a great pace which is key in these origin films. They kept you informed while continuing to move along at a steady speed. The characters were engaging, believable and well scripted. The art direction was fantastic and the visual effects were dazzling yet seamless.

Robert Downey Jr. blew everyone in the audience away with his masterful depiction of Tony Stark. I am really curious to see where this film might take his career in the coming years. I feel like with this film he has hit a new level that if he plays his cards right and stays focused he could use it as a stepping stone into much more substantial movies than in his previous career.

Everyone is confident in not only seeing it as a trilogy starter but also a starter to a good trilogy. I fully recommend this film, it is the perfect opener to your summer film festivities.


3 Responses to “Iron Man Opening Night”


  1. May 5, 2008 at 6:33 am

    I concur, I saw it with my friends on opening night. The audience in our theater had the same response to Downey Jr.’s performance and portrayal. Probably the best Marvel movie out yet.

  2. May 7, 2008 at 12:05 am

    Loved it as well. Big fan here. I think I should go see it again. It looked amazing on an digital projector screen as well.

  3. 3 ian
    May 19, 2008 at 10:19 am

    saw it this morning.. super awesome good, and i went in never reading the comic or even knowing what the heck it was all about. stayed after the credits, there is a little teaser for the sequel


Leave a comment


May 2008
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031